If you can say it in a few word do so

I have been thinking and reading up a bit more on good writing technique. I believe one of the problems I have is when I say something I tend to make it longer than it needs to be. Sentences can be of a greater length than is comfortable.  There is something I have noticed in most writing work of journalists, that being, if you can say it in ten words, why use 20?
 
The only problem now is that I write for the travel industry. Flowery language is often used to sell a product or, say, a tourist attraction to the public. I understand that the more concise an essay is the better; especially as it will usually have a limit to the number of words you are supposed to use. It looks like my technique will have to change for essay writing.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

